Dmitry Karasyuk's author's project

Philatelia.Net / The literature / Plots /

The directory Plots

Beckett Samuel

Beckett Samuel (19061989)

Anglo-French playwright and novelist, b. Dublin. Beckett studied and taught in Paris before settling there permanently in 1937. He wrote primarily in French, frequently translating his works into English himself. His first published novel, Murphy (1938), typifies his later works by eliminating the traditional elements of plot, character, and setting. Instead, he presents the experience of waiting and struggling with a pervading sense of futility. The anguish of persisting in a meaningless world is intensified in Becketts subsequent novels including Watt (194244); the trilogy Molloy (1951), Malone Dies (1951), and The Unnamable (1953); How It Is (1961); and The Lost Ones (1972). In his theater of the absurd, Beckett combined poignant humor with an overwhelming sense of anguish and loss. Best known and most controversial of his dramas are Waiting for Godot (1952) and Endgame (1957), which have been performed throughout the world. Beckett was awarded the 1969 Nobel Prize in Literature. Becketts other works include a major study of Proust (1931); the plays Krapps Last Tape (1959) and Happy Days (1961); a screenplay, Film (1969); short stories, Breath (1966) and Lessness (1970); collected shorter prose in Stories and Texts for Nothing (tr. 1967), Nos Knife (1967), and The Complete Short Prose: 19291989 (1996, ed. by S. E. Gontarski); volumes of collected writings, More Pricks than Kicks (1970) and First Love and Other Shorts (1974); and Poems (1963). His Collected Works (16 vol.) was published in 1970, and his first works of fiction and drama were both published posthumously, the novel Dream of Fair to Middling Women (1932) in 1992 and the play Eleuthéria (1947) in 1995.

Guinea, 2008, Samuel Beckett

Irland, 1990, Waiting for Godot (Samuel Beckett)

Irland, 1994, Samuel Beckett

Irland, 2000, James Joyce and Beckett

Irland, 2000, William Shakespeare and Beckett

Irland, 2004, Samuel Beckett

Maldives, 1995, Samuel Beckett

Paraguay, 1977, Medal of Nobel prize of Literature

Portugal, 2000, Writers

St. Vincent, 1995, Samuel Beckett

Sweden, 2004, Samuel Beckett


2003-2023 Dmitry Karasyuk. Idea, preparation, drawing up
  "Web" Rambler's Top100     24 ,   24